Choose a country or region to display content specific to your geographic position


Jean-Philippe Dayraut bags his fourth title!


For its sixth round, the Andros Trophy headed for the Vosges on 27 January. After winning the two races in Lans-en-Vercors, Jean-Philippe Dayraut confirmed his superiority by taking the win of the first race. Not easily, because he was up against an Olivier Panis speeding full out and mustering all his talent to get the leader into a tight spot. But Dayraut didn't make any mistakes. It was in race two that he had to give in, but to Jacques Villeneuve. It's the first win in the Andros Trophy of the 1997 Formula 1 World Champion, who showed off all his talent in getting the better of his contenders intent on not letting him get well ahead. Bertrand Balas, team-mate of Dayraut in team Sainteloc Racing, supported technically by Motul, managed with fine regularity to finish both races second.  

Motul partners the Electric Andros Trophy and, in race one, Christophe Ferrier's good start allowed him to cross the arrival line first, despite a particularly incisive Franck Lagorce. In race two, the very young Matthieu Vaxivière attempted a show of strength at the start, but Lagorce got the better of him. Meanwhile, Julien Absalon cut a dash at the wheel of his Motul car, finishing 9th in both races.

Even if it was expected, given his superb season, this win in race 1  has allowed Jean-Philippe Dayraut to clinch his fourth title in the discipline. He thus draws closer to the record held by Yvan Muller who, on his own, has a total of no less than 10 titles. 

Last round on 2 February in Super-Besse. With pressure off, it's a sure bet that the Saintéloc Racing driver will put on a show there!

Andros Trophy Standings
01// Jean-Philippe Dayraut, Mini Countryman - 860 pts - Motul
02// Benjamin Rivière, Citroën DS3 - 813 pts
03// Olivier Panis, Dacia Lodgy - 805 pts

Andros Trophy Electric Standings
01// Christophe Ferrier - 376 pts
02// Franck Lagorce - 340 pts
03// Adrien Tambay - 326 pts

Photo credits:

Jean-Philippe Dayraut bags his fourth title!
Cookies help us deliver our services. By using our services, you agree to our use of cookies. Learn more